TL;DR
Get beauty and skincare favorites delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The FDA has cleared Lynch Regenerative Medicine’s Investigational New Drug application for a Phase 2 trial of injectable rhPDGF-BB in adults with under-eye hollowing. The study will evaluate safety, tolerability and preliminary efficacy; the injectable remains investigational, and enrollment is expected to start within weeks.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has cleared Lynch Regenerative Medicine’s Investigational New Drug application for a Phase 2 trial of injectable recombinant human platelet-derived growth factor-BB (rhPDGF-BB) in adults with under-eye hollowing. The clearance allows the company to proceed with a clinical study; it does not mean the injectable is approved for cosmetic use or has been shown to work. Enrollment is expected to begin within weeks, according to the report.
The planned study is described as a multicentre, randomised trial assessing the safety and tolerability of injectable rhPDGF-BB, as well as its preliminary efficacy for infraorbital hollowing. The source report does not provide a planned participant count, trial locations, dosing schedule or comparison groups, so those details cannot yet be assessed from the available information.
Researchers will evaluate changes in under-eye appearance over 12 weeks. The study will also examine tissue quality, patient-reported outcomes and immunogenicity—the possibility of an immune response to the treatment. These measures are intended to provide evidence about both participant experience and safety, but a Phase 2 study is not, by itself, proof that a treatment is effective or suitable for routine use.
Lynch Regenerative Medicine also markets ariessence pure PDGF+, described in the report as a separate topical cosmetic product containing rhPDGF-BB and hyaluronic acid serum. That product is distinct from the injectable formulation being studied. The existence or marketing of a topical product does not establish the safety, effectiveness or regulatory status of the investigational injection.
Evidence Before Aesthetic Use
The clearance marks a step toward testing a growth-factor-based injectable for a cosmetic concern affecting the under-eye area. For people considering aesthetic treatments, the distinction between permission to study a product and approval to sell or use it as a treatment is important: the FDA action reported here concerns a clinical trial, not authorization for general patient use.
The trial may add clinical data to a field where treatments are often discussed in terms of skin quality and tissue restoration. Its findings could inform whether further study is warranted, but the planned 12-week assessment and preliminary efficacy focus will not settle longer-term outcomes. Until results are reported and reviewed, benefit and risk remain uncertain.
under eye cream with hyaluronic acid
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From IND Clearance to Trial
An Investigational New Drug application is the regulatory pathway described in the report as allowing Lynch Regenerative Medicine to move ahead with this Phase 2 clinical investigation. Such clearance should not be confused with a determination that the injectable is an established treatment. The report provides no trial registration number or FDA statement, and its account is the basis for the details presented here.
The company’s topical ariessence product is relevant only as background: it contains rhPDGF-BB but is a different formulation and route of use. The proposed study instead concerns an injectable formulation given to adults with infraorbital hollowing. Results from one product cannot automatically be applied to the other.
cooling under eye gel patches for puffiness
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Trial Details Still Pending
The available report does not identify the planned number of participants, trial sites, dose, treatment schedule or control condition. It also does not specify how under-eye appearance will be scored, who will assess it, or what degree of change researchers would consider meaningful. Those details will be needed to understand how the study is designed and how its findings should be interpreted.
No results are available because enrollment has not yet begun, according to the report. The trial’s longer-term follow-up, any adverse events, and whether the company will pursue later-stage studies are also not stated. The FDA clearance should not be read as confirmation that the injection is safe or effective for consumers; those questions are among the issues the trial is intended to examine.
mineral sunscreen for sensitive skin around eyes
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Enrollment and Study Results
The immediate next step is participant enrollment, which the report says is expected within weeks. No exact date was given. Once underway, the study is expected to assess participants over a 12-week period, collecting appearance measures alongside tissue-quality, patient-reported and immunogenicity data.
Readers should look for a trial registration and published study protocol for fuller information about eligibility, design and endpoints, followed by results when the researchers complete and report the work. Until those data are available, the injectable remains investigational, and its potential role in treating under-eye hollows is not established.
Key Questions
Has the FDA approved the injection for cosmetic treatment?
No. The reported FDA action is clearance of an Investigational New Drug application for a Phase 2 clinical trial. It is not approval for routine cosmetic use.
What is the trial studying?
The study will assess safety, tolerability and preliminary efficacy of injectable rhPDGF-BB in adults with infraorbital hollowing. Reported measures include under-eye appearance over 12 weeks, tissue quality, patient-reported outcomes and immunogenicity.
When will participants be enrolled?
Enrollment is expected to begin within weeks, according to the report. No exact start date or participant count was provided.
Is the injectable the same as ariessence pure PDGF+?
No. The report describes ariessence pure PDGF+ as a separate topical cosmetic product containing rhPDGF-BB and hyaluronic acid serum. The Phase 2 trial concerns an injectable formulation, and evidence about one should not be treated as evidence about the other.
Source: rss
Evergreen bestsellers Picks
bestsellers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
